Pennsylvania Association of

Community Health Centers

Supporting Pennsylvania's health centers in increasing access to quality primary health care for all

FQHCs as Patient-Centered Medical Homes/Health Homes 

The high-quality teams at health centers focus on providing comprehensive care specific to the needs of each patient.

PCMH Resources

Oral Health

Behavioral Health

Physical Health



PA Health Centers with Joint Commission or NCQA PCMH Recognition:

Ambulatory Health 
Berks Community Health Center  
Centerville Clinics 
ChesPenn Health Services
Community Health Clinic 
Community Health & Dental Clinic 
Cornerstone Care
Delaware Valley Community Health 
East Liberty Family Health Care Center 
Esperanza Health Center 
Family First Health
Family Practice & Counseling Network 
Greater Philadelphia Health Action  
Hamilton Health Center  
La Comunidad Hispana 
Lancaster Health Center 
Neighborhood Health Centers of the Lehigh Valley 
Primary Care Health Services 
Primary Health Network 
Public Health Management Corporation 
River Valley Health Center 
Rural Health Corporation of Northeast PA 
Sadler Health Center 
Sayre Health Center 
Scranton Primary Health Care Center 
Spectrum Health Services 
Squirrel Hill Health Center 
Sto-Rox Neighborhood Health Center 


Patient-Centered Medical Home (PCMH)/Health Home

The patient-centered medical home (PCMH) is a model or philosophy of primary care that is patient-centered, comprehensive, team-based, coordinated, accessible and focused on quality and safety. It has become a widely accepted model for how primary care should be organized and delivered throughout the health care system. PCMH is defined by the Patient-Centered Primary Care Collaborative as "a model for achieving primary care excellence so that care is received in the right place, at the right time and in a way that best suits a patient's needs."

The medical home encompasses five functions and attributes:

  • Comprehensive care
  • Patient-centered
  • Care coordination across health system
  • Quality and safety focused
  • Enhanced access to care
The HRSA Accreditation and Patient-Centered Medical Home Recognition Initiative supports recognition for health centers that meet national quality standards. HRSA contracts with three organizations to provide technical assistance and training for their respective recognition processes:

HRSA may support certain fees for participating health centers. The fees covered may be associated with initial accreditation and re-accreditation for ambulatory health care accreditation and PCMH recognition, initial, renewal, and add-on surveys.